Congratulations to our 2023 Merit Scholarship Competition finalists! A total of 40 students participated in our High School and Middle School Merit Scholarship Competitions this year, making the selection process challenging and exciting! The academic accomplishments, extracurricular involvement, demonstrated leadership, and teacher recommendations we reviewed for each participant were quite impressive, and there were many deserving candidates.

In the rising 9th grade competition, students participated from schools all over Louisville, resulting in six finalists, three of whom were from Francis Parker, and three of whom were from other schools. 

Two students were named Finalists in the competition: Abby Walker (Francis Parker) and Connor Sage (Friends School).

One student earned an Honorable Mention Scholarship: Max Wright (Francis Parker).  

Our 2023 High School Merit Scholars are:

  • Carnighan Math & Science Merit Scholar – Connor Lin (Francis Parker)
  • Cipinko Humanities Merit Scholar – Maren Loewy (Noe Middle School)
  • Francis Parker Merit Scholar – Evan Williams (Friends School)

In the rising 6th grade competition, we named three Middle School Merit Scholars

  • Zach Endashaw (Francis Parker)
  • Iris Beale (Francis Parker)
  • Henry Norris (Francis Parker)